Skip to content

A Personal Challenge

April 26, 2010

Girly Ruffled Tank by Kate

I am a huge fan of the store Anthropologie however I am not a fan of their high prices. Eek!  When I visited a store in February I fell in love with a tank top there but immediately thought, “I could make this!”  Though I brushed it off at the time, days later I found myself studying the top online and I realized I had to try it.  I was overjoyed when I found the perfect motivation: a spring top contest over at Made by Rae. Before we moved back to the States in early February I bought a shirt at a local clothing store.  It was inexpensive (4 euros) but too big for me.  I wanted to repurpose it somehow and thought it would be perfect for this spring top challenge.  Here’s what I did:

  • BeforeUsing a tank top of mine as a template I started hacking the shirt apart, cutting new arm holes and sides.
  • Next I added ruffles made from three materials: scraps from the sleeves, satin ribbon bought in Europe and vintage lace that belonged to my great grandma.
  • To finish it off I borrowed my mom’s serger to sew up the sides and hem the bottom.

I really love the way it turned out!  Even if I don’t win the challenge it’ll still be worth all my hard work.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 11:14 am

    This is gorgeous! You did a fantastic job with all the details – can’t wait to see how this will do in the competition.

  2. April 29, 2010 4:31 am

    It turned out so well!! Love it!

    I have a weekly Thursday blog party especially for people to share things they’ve made to be worn. Stop by if you’d like!

  3. April 29, 2010 2:30 pm

    way.to.go. looks so fabulous!!!!!! proud of your efforts and now need you to help me figure something out! you rock!

  4. Debi permalink
    April 30, 2010 7:45 pm

    I love it Kate! It’s fabulous!

  5. May 6, 2010 12:21 pm

    Dear Kate, I own 3 long sleeve shirts JUST LIKE yours. They are by far my most favorite shirts to wear because i love small ruffles and uncluttered color. Once again you amaze me with your Art and Simplicity !!

Trackbacks

  1. Kate’s New Blog–VOTE! « Joewulf

Leave a Reply

