Skip to content

Friday’s Favorites

October 22, 2010

I will admit that I hate housework!  Since our move two months ago I have had the hardest time getting into a cleaning/laundry/dishes routine.  It’s hard cleaning up after 4 people, especially since we are without a dishwasher.  In recent years however, I’ve picked up some useful tips to make these tasks a little bit better and  I thought I’d share em.

Cleaning– I love to clean with natural ingredients….lemons, vinegar, and baking soda to name a few.  Here is the recipe to my favorite all purpose cleaner, and here are some more natural cleaning recipes.  I just bought some Clove essential oil for Fall and I’ll probably switch to Pine or Rosemary for Winter…mmm let the cleaning begin.

Laundry–  I found this handy chart awhile back that I find fabulous for proper stain treatment.  I just recently got some Bio-OX Concentrate from a friend and I’m loving it as my everyday pre-wash treatment.  Since it’s concentrated you can mix a solution to suit your needs around the house as well…light duty, all purpose, and heavy duty.

Dishes–  I try to do dishes during the day so I don’t end up with a mountain of them, but it does happen.  Sometimes my wonderful hubby jumps in to rescue me, but when the task fall on me I try to make it as nice as possible.  I turn on my IPod, plug in my Scentsy warmer, and lather my hands with lotion.  Ok that last one may sound weird but it’s really nice, you put on gloves like normal and then the heat from the water softens your hands while you wash!  I can’t remember where I heard about that but I think it’s a brilliant!

I hope you’ve enjoyed these ideas, happy cleaning and please leave a comment with your favorite household tips!   I’d love to hear them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debi permalink
    October 23, 2010 5:22 am

    Kate! I love it! It’s so fun reading your blog! You’re so creative and make everything interesting and fun!

  2. mom permalink
    October 23, 2010 12:10 pm

    I think you must have gotten your dislike for house cleaning from me. Sorry about that. It sounds like you have a good plan though and some good ways to make it more pleasant if that’s possible.

Leave a Reply

