Skip to content

A Long Time Coming

March 30, 2011

Call me crazy but I started planning Ellie’s 1st birthday party as soon as I found out I was having her!  That’s right, we hadn’t even picked her name yet when I decided to have an Alice in Wonderland Tea Party.

After my ultrasound we went to the local mall and I was drawn towards everything girly.  I found this cute kid size baking set and was dreaming about baking with my little girl when these great muffin cups caught my attention.  They were red with white polka dots and I immediately started having visions of a queen of hearts/alice tea party for her birthday (a mere year and 5 months in the future).  Ultimately I abandoned the red and white color scheme but those baking cups started a journey for me that culminated in a really cute, super fun birthday for my sweet Ellie.

I am a little obsessive when it comes to party planning.  Growing up we always had a theme for birthday parties. One year my mom made each of my guests mini round cakes (ahead of time) and we decorated them together as our activity!  So fun, I guess I can thank my mom for my obsession huh? thanks mom!  I also love checking out sites like this and this for party planning inspiration.  Last summer my sis-in-law and I came up with a joint party theme for her daughter (and coincidentally my niece) and my son Jude.  Their birthdays are a week apart so we decided to double the fun for their 2 year old birthdays.  She blogged about that awesome party (if I do say so myself) here.

So on to my party details.  I stayed with the Alice in Wonderland theme but I decided on a different color scheme and decided it would be more like a garden tea party.  My colors were white and yellow, I wanted it to be light and airy.  It was a small family party at our house but there are seven kids so we kept busy.  The food was made by myself, my mom, mom in law, sis, and great grandma…love my family.  Now for some pictures!

Ellie's cake and the frosting was made from scratch, I opted for a box mix for the cupcakes. The table cloth was a thrifted $2 queen flat sheet

Food Spread: Tea sandwiches, veggies and dip, deviled eggs, fruit salad with homemade waffle cups, and cupcakes, we also had some soup simmering in the kitchen. Again, so thankful for my family helping make the food.

An artsy angle of the food. My hubby can make anything look great in pictures! even those paper plates lol!

Found that Alice drawing online and I printed it on cardstock and put it into a frame I already owned...she is holding a vile that says drink me. So this was my beverage table with peach ice tea and ice water (I love adding lemon and cucumber slices it's really refreshing).

 

Glass pedestal belongs to my mom, I cut out Alice pictures I found online and hot glued them to toothpicks, the tea pot is actually a candle warmer.

This giant chess set belongs to my dad and I asked him to bring it up so we could get a cute pic of Ellie...this is probably the best picture of the bunch as she was getting tired, and she got 3 teeth in during her birthday week. Can you tell?

Table at front entry with take home "Eat Me" sugar cookies. The clock was a wedding present and the runner and bunny were thrifted finds.

I am planning on doing a couple mini posts on some of the details not shared in the pictures later so stay tuned and thanks for checking out the party!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011 12:44 pm

    Such a beautiful party! Amazing job!

Leave a Reply

